Month: April 2018

Registrations now open for 2018 winter competition

The Apaches will be fielding two teams in the SMCA competition this winter season and we are accepting registrations for new (and not so new) players. The Apaches have been a successful winter club in recent years, with premierships in each of the last three seasons.

Contact us to play.

Apaches celebrate the 2016 Grand Final victory

David Waterson returns victorious. Credit: Isaac Williams.

Inaugural Tim ‘Webko’ Booth trophy awarded to Will Sammuri

The Apaches have capped off the 2017/18 summer season with its awards night at The Lakes Hotel.

The feature of the night was the awarding of the inaugural Tim ‘Webko’ Booth trophy to Club Secretary Will Sammuri. The award is deeply significant for the Apaches, and recognises the passion and commitment with which Webko held the club together for so many years.

Lisa Booth (left) with Will Sammuri (right), accepting the inaugural Tim 'Webko' Booth Trophy

Lisa Booth (left) with Will Sammuri (right), accepting the inaugural Tim ‘Webko’ Booth Trophy

While Webko will always remain sorely missed by all Apaches, the 2017/18 season saw a new generation come to the fore, led capably by Will Sammuri. As Club Secretary, Sammuri has worked selflessly, along with the executive, to keep the Apaches a strong club in summer and winter competitions.

Sammuri accepted the award with great humility, noting the importance placed on the award.

Many thanks to Bryan Seymour, who was the driving force behind the Tim ‘Webko’ Booth trophy, as well as Lisa and Lox for their assistance.

Will Sammuri, recipient of the inaugural Tim 'Webko' Booth Trophy, attempting to cricket

Will Sammuri, recipient of the inaugural Tim ‘Webko’ Booth Trophy, attempting to cricket

Isaac Williams clubman of the year

The Clubman award went to Isaac Williams, who stepped into the leadership role of the First XI. Williams displayed mature captaincy throughout the year and took the Apaches to the semi-finals.

David Waterson took out both club batting (569 runs) and wicket keeping (11 catches, 7 stumpings) awards on the way to winning the Club Champion after another impressive season. Pat Foley surprised no-one in winning the club bowling award, snaring 36 wickets at an average of 13.53.

Gazi Hosain was rookie of the year, taking 17 wickets at an average of 20.12.

Special mention also goes to Regan Behrendorff, Al Yap, Paul McLean and Chris Day who were awarded the Outstanding Club Service medal. All four served the club by agreeing to play up in the seconds team on various occasions.

Full awards list

Major awards

Tim ‘Webko’ Booth Trophy: Will Sammuri
Clubman of the Year: Isaac Williams
Outstanding Club Service medals: Regan Behrendorff, Al Yap, Paul McLean and Chris Day

Club awards

Rookie of the Year: Gazi Hosain – 17 wickets @ 20.12
Club bowling: Patrick Foley – 36 wickets @ 13.53
Club batting: David Waterson – 569 runs
Club keeping: David Waterson – 11 catches, 7 stumpings
Club Champion: David Waterson – 96.9 champion points

Best and Fairest

First XI: David Waterson
Second XI: Morley Goodchild

First XI Grade Awards

Best Batting: David Waterson – 569 @ 40.64
Best Bowling: Patrick Foley – 36 @ 13.53
Most Improved: Sujee Mampitiyarachchi

Second XI Grade Awards

Best Batting: Derek Cameron – 437 @ 39.73
Best Bowling: Morley Goodchild – 18 @ 21.28
Most Improved: Lachlan Booth

Individual Awards – 5 Wickets

Lachlan Booth – Round 1, 5/32 off 9
Patrick Foley – Round 7, 5/60 off 20, 5 maidens and Semi-Final, 5/28 off 17.1, 5 maidens
Morley Goodchild – Round 5, 5/44 off 8
Adrian Fromm – Round 6, 5/19 off 7, 2 maidens
Ajeet Kumar – Round 7, 6/70 off 17, 3 maidens

Individual Awards – Centuries

Derek Cameron – Round 2, 105*, 11 fours / 4 sixes and Round 4, 104, 14 fours / 2 sixes
Josh Autridge – Round 6, 134 17 fours / 3 sixes

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén