Category: Awards

Apaches 2018/19 Awards Night

Dereck Cameron has taken out the Tim ‘Webko’ Booth Trophy to cap off the Apaches’ 2018/19 Awards night on 27 July 2019.

Dereck Cameron, winner of the Tim ‘Webko’ Booth Trophy for 2019, with Lisa Booth

2nd XI skipper leads from the front

Dereck has been instrumental in moulding the 2nd XI outfit for a number of seasons now. Leading the way on the field – with both bat and ball – and off, he always goes about his cricket with good humour and good sportsmanship.

Making 360 runs last summer at an average of 33 (including a century), combined with 9 wickets at 31, Dereck had another solid, all-round season. Even more important though was the leadership he provided in a challenging season. Throughout some difficult days in the field, the team he led continued to love its cricket as well as playing together.

For that, Dereck couldn’t be more deserving of the Tim ‘Webko’ Booth Trophy.

Best and fairest goes to…

Dereck Cameron. See above.

Quiet achiever serving the club

The Apache of the Season award for 2018/19 went to Duncan Pryse-Jones who has been a long-term stalwart of the club. DP-J consistently turned up and put in for the club this season, as he has for many seasons before, also earning himself an Outstanding Club Service Medal. All the while enjoying his cricket: he embodies what it means to play for the Apaches. Congratulations, Duncan.

Steve Evesson accepts his bowling award (12 wickets @ 27) from Will Sammuri

Full Awards List

Major Awards

Tim ‘Webko’ Booth Trophy 2019: Dereck Cameron
Apache Best & Fairest 2018/19: Dereck Cameron
Apache of the Season 2018/19: Duncan Pryse-Jones
Outstanding Club Service medals: Duncan Pryse-Jones, Al Yap, David Venn-Brown

First XI Grade Awards

Batting aggregate: David Waterson (284 runs)
Batting average: Stuart Branch (36.29)

Bowling award: Bryan Seymour (29 wickets @ 13.38)

Wicket-keeping award: David Waterson (19 catches, 5 stumpings)

Allrounder award: Al Yap (125 runs, 14 wickets)

Most improved: Brad Koch

Second XI Grade Awards

Batting aggregate: Dereck Cameron (360 runs)
Batting average: John Wright (52.6)

Bowling award (shared):
Morley Goodchild (12 wickets @ 17.92)
Steve Evesson (12 wickets @ 27)

Wicket-keeping award: Josh Shipton

Allrounder award: John Wright (263 runs, 8 wickets)

Individual Awards – 5 wickets

Blake Milligan: 6/33 v Botany Rd 10
Bryan Seymour: 5/56 v Clovelly Rd 2 and 6/50 v Coogee Bay Rd 12
Sujee Mampityararchchi: 5/24 v SRT Rd 6
Morley Goodchild: 5/50 v Botany Rd 12

Individual Awards – Centuries

Dereck Cameron: 136 v Captain Cook Rd 2

Thanks to Bryan Seymour for making the arrangements for the awards night and providing most of the photos, and Declan O’Sullivan for assisting with the stats.

End of Season Presentation/Registration Night
Saturday July 27 at The Lakes Hotel @ 6pm

The Apaches will be holding their (belated) 2019/20 End of Season awards night on Saturday July 27 and all Apaches – past, present and future – are welcome to join us for a night of memories and laughs as we look back at the season gone.

The night will see the awarding of the Time ‘Webko’ Booth Perpetual Trophy, our club’s most prestigious award.

See you there!

Up the Apaches!

David Waterson returns victorious. Credit: Isaac Williams.

Inaugural Tim ‘Webko’ Booth trophy awarded to Will Sammuri

The Apaches have capped off the 2017/18 summer season with its awards night at The Lakes Hotel.

The feature of the night was the awarding of the inaugural Tim ‘Webko’ Booth trophy to Club Secretary Will Sammuri. The award is deeply significant for the Apaches, and recognises the passion and commitment with which Webko held the club together for so many years.

Lisa Booth (left) with Will Sammuri (right), accepting the inaugural Tim 'Webko' Booth Trophy

Lisa Booth (left) with Will Sammuri (right), accepting the inaugural Tim ‘Webko’ Booth Trophy

While Webko will always remain sorely missed by all Apaches, the 2017/18 season saw a new generation come to the fore, led capably by Will Sammuri. As Club Secretary, Sammuri has worked selflessly, along with the executive, to keep the Apaches a strong club in summer and winter competitions.

Sammuri accepted the award with great humility, noting the importance placed on the award.

Many thanks to Bryan Seymour, who was the driving force behind the Tim ‘Webko’ Booth trophy, as well as Lisa and Lox for their assistance.

Will Sammuri, recipient of the inaugural Tim 'Webko' Booth Trophy, attempting to cricket

Will Sammuri, recipient of the inaugural Tim ‘Webko’ Booth Trophy, attempting to cricket

Isaac Williams clubman of the year

The Clubman award went to Isaac Williams, who stepped into the leadership role of the First XI. Williams displayed mature captaincy throughout the year and took the Apaches to the semi-finals.

David Waterson took out both club batting (569 runs) and wicket keeping (11 catches, 7 stumpings) awards on the way to winning the Club Champion after another impressive season. Pat Foley surprised no-one in winning the club bowling award, snaring 36 wickets at an average of 13.53.

Gazi Hosain was rookie of the year, taking 17 wickets at an average of 20.12.

Special mention also goes to Regan Behrendorff, Al Yap, Paul McLean and Chris Day who were awarded the Outstanding Club Service medal. All four served the club by agreeing to play up in the seconds team on various occasions.

Full awards list

Major awards

Tim ‘Webko’ Booth Trophy: Will Sammuri
Clubman of the Year: Isaac Williams
Outstanding Club Service medals: Regan Behrendorff, Al Yap, Paul McLean and Chris Day

Club awards

Rookie of the Year: Gazi Hosain – 17 wickets @ 20.12
Club bowling: Patrick Foley – 36 wickets @ 13.53
Club batting: David Waterson – 569 runs
Club keeping: David Waterson – 11 catches, 7 stumpings
Club Champion: David Waterson – 96.9 champion points

Best and Fairest

First XI: David Waterson
Second XI: Morley Goodchild

First XI Grade Awards

Best Batting: David Waterson – 569 @ 40.64
Best Bowling: Patrick Foley – 36 @ 13.53
Most Improved: Sujee Mampitiyarachchi

Second XI Grade Awards

Best Batting: Derek Cameron – 437 @ 39.73
Best Bowling: Morley Goodchild – 18 @ 21.28
Most Improved: Lachlan Booth

Individual Awards – 5 Wickets

Lachlan Booth – Round 1, 5/32 off 9
Patrick Foley – Round 7, 5/60 off 20, 5 maidens and Semi-Final, 5/28 off 17.1, 5 maidens
Morley Goodchild – Round 5, 5/44 off 8
Adrian Fromm – Round 6, 5/19 off 7, 2 maidens
Ajeet Kumar – Round 7, 6/70 off 17, 3 maidens

Individual Awards – Centuries

Derek Cameron – Round 2, 105*, 11 fours / 4 sixes and Round 4, 104, 14 fours / 2 sixes
Josh Autridge – Round 6, 134 17 fours / 3 sixes

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén